Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You?

Tankless water heater
Tankless water heaters are all the rage now. You hear and see commercials on television, radio and the print media. But are they for you?
The answer is probably yes, but maybe no. I go see several people each week about tankless water heaters and every once in awhile, I suggest to the client that they reinstall a conventional water heater.
Why you ask?
Most people assume that you simply take out the old water heater and install the tankless with the same pipes When a tankless water heater is installed, The gas line will need to be increased in size from the standard 1/2″ to a 3/4″ or 1″ line depending on how far the heater is from the gas meter. Also a new vent system is required and an electrical outlet will need to be installed. These items will add to the installation cost. When I do a consultation, I take into consideration the number of people in the home, the hot water usage and do some calculations to determine they payback on the upgraded costs. With those numbers and the customers other reasons to have a tankless water heater, together we can make an informed decision if a tankless water heater system is right for the client. Every once in awhile we find that thee best course of action is a conventional tank system.

For your information, I have inserted some great information from the Rinnai Tankless water heater company’s web site.

Click animation to see how a tankless heater works.

Advantages of Tankless Water Heaters from your local Pasadena Plumber
Endless Hot Water

Never take another cold shower again! Rinnai tankless water heaters heat water on demand, so you’re never limited to a fixed pre-heated supply as with a tank. You’ll enjoy hot water when you want it, for as long as you need it. Take a shower, wash dishes and do laundry all at the same time!
Energy Costs

With Rinnai tankless water heaters, you’ll enjoy up to 40% energy savings. That’s because our units are designed to be highly efficient and only heat water when it’s needed. When the demand for water ceases, the unit shuts down and uses no energy, a revolutionary advantage over inefficient tank-style heaters.

Performance and Longevity
With a Rinnai tankless water heater, you get the durability and reliability of a commercial-grade copper heat exchanger and an industry-leading 12-year limited warranty on the heat exchanger. Plus, Rinnai tankless water heaters have a typical life span of 20 years or more installed in residential applications, up to twice as long as a tank.

Clean, Fresh Water

When using a traditional tank-style water heater, rust and scale build-up can collect in the interior of the tank, where the hot water you use day-to-day for bathing and drinking is stored. With Rinnai tankless water heaters there is no tank to store water, so you’ll always experience fresh, clean hot water because our unit heats water on demand as it passes through the unit.

Space Savings and Flexible Installation Options

Reclaim precious space in your home. Traditional tank water heaters can take up to 16 square feet of valuable floor space. However, Rinnai tankless units-about the size of a carry-on suitcase- can be installed on virtually any wall inside or outside of your home.

More Capacity

Meeting increased hot water demands can be a challenge for traditional tank-style heaters, however, with Rinnai’s innovative technology you’ll never run out of hot water. One Rinnai tankless water heater can produce the same amount of hot water as 6 conventional tank type water heaters.

Peace of Mind

With Rinnai tankless water heaters, there’s no tank to leak or break, thus reducing the risk of flooding. Plus, Rinnai offers a line of controllers that make it easy to set water temperatures precisely for multiple locations in your home to ensure comfort and prevent scalding accidents.

If this sounds like the system for you, I would love to talk to you.
Click here to fill out my online service request form and I will give you a call to set up an appointment to see if tankless is for you.

Here is what a client recently stated about their tankless water heater we installed.
Yahoo
User Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
by Photo Lady
07/19/2008

Just had them install 2 Rinnai tankless water heaters for my house. They did a very nice job. They showed up on time and finished when they said they would. Everything is working great. I have had them work in my house about 10 times. Every time, the work is done great. I highly recommend them.

40 Responses to Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You?

  1. Nicole says:

    Very interesting story. I’ve been doing some research on tankless heaters and this was very informative. I contacted Kevin directly and he was very helpful and answered all my many many questions.

  2. Phil Barnett says:

    I like the tankless units. People need to make sure they get a good quality unit. If you get a cheap tankless unit you will be sorry. I prefer Norritz tankless units. I have one at my house.

  3. Bill Lutz says:

    Thank you for that information. How do you find the electric hot water heater fair. I have found that they work well if you use them to service individual bathrooms but have never seen a whole house system installed. They do save space and that is a good thing here in Philadelphia.

    • drnoleak says:

      Here in most of California, natural gas is abundant. We only sell whole house tankless water heaters that use natural gas or propane gas. From what other Nexstar members around the country tell me, the electric whole house tankless water heaters are very inefficient and not recommended. We only install the small electric under sink water heaters for occasional single sink use only.

  4. Matt LaVergne says:

    Tankless water heaters are great. We had one installed. Now we can wash all our cars at once using hot water for everything!

  5. Chris Corley says:

    Having unlimited hot water is a must for my family. With 3 daughters, 2 sons, and my wife and I, we can use a lot of hot water. I heard there was a tax credit available if I install one of these.

    • drnoleak says:

      Yes. For 2009, there is a 30% federal tax credit up to a maximum of $1500. You will need to consult with your tax man on how much you will get back. Good luck and thanks for taking the time to check out my blog.

  6. RYAN says:

    We have hard water. Will it work for us?

    • drnoleak says:

      If you have hard water, you will want to install a water softener. All tankless water heater manufacturers void the warranty on the heater exchanger if the water is considered hard. I have posted to my blog about water conditioners and the many benefits. I can recommend a few different options to you. Give me a call

  7. Joe says:

    I agree Kevin. Sometimes with all the hype over newer technologies we can lose sight of the fact that each person has different needs. I think a good plumber should take each customer on a cases-by-case basis and not blanket every consumer with a generalization like “tankless is right for everyone.” Good job on giving us all something to think about before we make a decision we might regret.

    • drnoleak says:

      Joe thanks for the comments. The plumber who sells with a one size fits all mentality is doing the client a major disservice whether a water heater of any other appliance.

      Our company philosophy is “Listen to what the customers pain is and give them several expert options to make that pain go away.”

  8. Tammy Ferris says:

    My sister recently moved in with my husband and I. We started to run out of hot water and I had a tankless heater installed. WOW! What a difference. I can take a time consuming shower now! I don’t have to hurry and I love that. We are saving money as well and even though there was no gas in our area we had a propane tank installed with the capacity to last us one year and it cost me less than 200.00. I know that I could not run my electric water heater on 200.00 per year. I’m a fan!!!

  9. Larry Sinn says:

    We have been using the Rinnai tankless in two houses over 8 years total and have never had a repair. Great product. It takes a little extra on the install upfront but it is worth it in savings and comfort.

  10. Kelly Herrmann says:

    Thanks Kevin,
    That explains why my plumber advised me against installing one.

  11. David Ion says:

    I put in a Rinnai Tankless water heater in Feb. 2009. So far it is far superior to the high efficiency Lennox water heater we had. Fortunately we oversized our gas line and ran electrical to the water heater location during a remodel 5 years ago or this would not have been an option. I still had to hire a roofer to install the new flashing kit though.

    David

  12. My plumber advised against me installing one too, and now I can see very clearly why he felt that way.

  13. Jim Liston says:

    I had one installed last spring and man what a difference. I had built a Japanese style soaking tub in the master bath but miscalculated how much hot water I would need to really make it comfortable. A 50 gallon tank only gave me about 12 inches of 105 degree water. Bummer. Now my wife is happy, I’m out of the dog house and the plumber is grinning all the way to the bank. It seems I have too many fixtures for a 3/4 gas line. So I had to replace with 1 inch about 40 feet….under the sidewalk, under the patio, through the garage wall, yaddda, yadda, yadda. And, since it is wall mounted, I get more floorspace in the garage.

  14. Sumi Hyndai says:

    Interesting information. I’m glad to read this article before buying. We have 6 daughters who take very long showers. Thanks Kevin- you are Yoda of plumbing. Save me from big mistake.

  15. […] post: Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You? « Pasadena Area Plumber  Mail this post Share and […]

  16. […] With so much information about tankless water heaters and the benefit, Kevin Shaw of Kevin Shaw Plumbing a professional plumbing company, recently wrote a great article about if even tankless water heaters are good. […]

  17. Don says:

    I had Kevin Shaw Plumbing install a tankless water heater last month-it was the best decesion that I’ve made! Endless hot water, what a difference, my family loves it! Thank you.

  18. franco says:

    I run my plumbing-solar-heating and air company in San Diego and I want to congratulate Kevin Shaw Plumbing for posting this great information.
    If you are in San Diego county, I can help you with a tankless water heater.

    Take advantage of this opportunity for a great tax credit and go green.

  19. drnoleak says:

    I have heard good things about MY Plumber in San Diego. Is that your company?

  20. […] the original: Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You? « Pasadena Area Plumber  Mail this post Share and […]

  21. Oreck says:

    Wooow… less than 100 comments!!… I have to take advantage of this and write my comment on your site… ok… what should I write??… mmm, I don’t think my criminal history would help me gain your sympathy, uh?? haha… in any case, I just want you to know that I believe you’re a terrific blogger and writer… so, thanks for that.. now I know I’m not a robot. well, this post is getting too long to be read, so i’ll stop now…

  22. A great way to “dip into” the tankless water heater world is to try a “point of use” unit under your kitchen sink. They’re fairly easy to install and provide an excellent entry into the tankless realm without a lot of cost or hassle.

  23. plantilla excel factura…

    […]Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You? « Pasadena Area Plumber[…]…

  24. air heater says:

    air heater…

    […]Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You? « Pasadena Area Plumber[…]…

  25. outside heaters…

    […]Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You? « Pasadena Area Plumber[…]…

  26. you’re really a just right webmaster. The site loading velocity is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed
    a magnificent activity on this subject!

  27. Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You? | Pasadena Area Plumber

  28. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine
    just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  29. Rob B says:

    I think so. Is this a reliable tankless water heater? http://www.tanklesswaterheaterstop.com

  30. This is a fantastic blog. A fantastic read.

    Is it OK to post on Tumblr? Keep up the fantastic work!
    I’ll certainly be back.

  31. Water Circulates

    Is A Tankless Water Heater Right For You? | Pasadena Area Plumber

  32. Mia Stewart says:

    I like how the article explains that a tankless water heater won’t get any buildup or rust inside of it which will keep your water clean. My family values our clean water and we don’t want to have dirty water. We will look into getting a tankless water heater.

Leave a comment